Keeping Up With YPN Miami: February 2013 Edition | Entrepreneur Series, Upcoming Events

Posted:  March 7th, 2013 by:  YPN MIami comments:  0

IN THIS ISSUE (February 26, 2013):

(1) Upcoming YPN events
(2) 2013 Miami Herald Business Plan Competition
(3) YPN Miami Board Positions

Upcoming YPN Miami Events

Feb 28 – Entrepreneurship Series: A discussion on social entrepreneurship & Miami’s start up ecosystem. Few more seats left…RSVP NOW

March 14 – YPN Networking Mingler
April 6 – Young Professionals Summit in conjunction with New Leaders Taskforce & Philanthrofest
May 11 – Feeding South Florida volunteering event
June 7 – YPN’s annual golf clinic


2013 Miami Herald Business Plan Challenge (Deadline: March 11)

Time is ticking away to enter the Miami Herald’s annual business plan contest. Your young business or business idea will be judged by experts in the entrepreneurial community. The top 6 finalists in each track will also be part of the popular People’s Pick video competition. Winning or being one of the finalists can give you valuable media exposure as well as connections to investors, advisors and successful entrepreneurs.
How to enter: 3-page business plan (one supplemental page is allowed for a supplemental chart or visual)

Deadline: March 11, 2013

Email entries to:

challenge@miamiherald.com – (Community Track, open to South Floridians

fiuchallenge@miamiherald.com – (open to FIU students and alumni)

highschoolchallenge@miamiherald.com – (open to high school students)
Contest rules, judges’ bios, more information:
MiamiHerald.com/challenge

Questions: ndahlberg@MiamiHerald.com

Tip: Keep up with news, views and tools for entrepreneurs on The Starting Gate blog on MiamiHerald.com/business


YPN Board Positions

Interested in serving in a leadership role with YPN Miami and help direct the course of the organization?

Consider serving as a Board Member with YPN Miami in the areas of Business Development, Programming, Professional Development, Communications, Technology, Mentorship, and Civic Engagement. Great networking opportunity.

If interested, contact YPN President, Brandon Okpalobi at brandon@ypnmiami.com, for more info on board nominations.

 


Want to be Featured as a YPN Spotlight? Submit your info.

We know we have some superstars at YPN Miami, and we’d like to give you the platform to shine. If you’re interested in being featured on the YPN website, please submit your request online at the link below to be featured in one of our weekly spotlight.

www.ypnmiami.com/member-spotlight/interested-in-being-spotlighted

 

 

 

YPN OFFICERS

Brandon Okpalobi
President
E: brandon@ypnmiami.com

Jermaine Lee
Vice-President
E: Jermaine@ypnmiami.com

Carlyn Tribble
Membership Chair
E: carlyn@ypnmiami.com

Chaynea Fox-Sampson
Professional Development Chair
E: chaynea@ypnmiami.com

Kenisha Brown
Mentorship Program Chair
E: kenisha@ypnmiami.com

Asriele Stubbs
Business Development Co-Chair
E: asriele@ypnmiami.com

Fabiola Fleuranvil
Communications Chair
E: fabiola@ypnmiami.com

Jessica Geter
MDCC Liaison
E: Jessica@m-dcc.org

How to reach us:

P: (305) 751-8648
W: www.ypnmiami.com

 

 

Post to Twitter

  • YPN Comments!

  • Twitter
    Leave a reply


    Warning: Unknown: open(/home/content/75/5720075/tmp/sess_md87h0slqgasvsts181occs9n0, O_RDWR) failed: No such file or directory (2) in Unknown on line 0

    Warning: Unknown: Failed to write session data (files). Please verify that the current setting of session.save_path is correct () in Unknown on line 0